Executive Council

"The Executive Council of the Alabama Library Association, Inc. is entrusted with conducting the business of the Association and is charged with keeping the membership informed of its official acts through The Alabama Librarian or other means. (Article IV, 1)" -- Alabama Library Association Handbook, Chapter 5, p.9. Information about the duties of the officers is available in Chapter 6, p.13.


Members can keep current with the Executive Council by reviewing the approved minutes from the Executive Council meetings. In addition, members can view the Association's calendar to find important dates, including the dates, times, and locations of all Executive Council meetings.


Finally, all members can contact the Association Office for any assistance.


Current members of the Executive Council are the Officers, Division Chairpersons, Ex-Officio Members, Alabama Librarian Editors, Scholarship Fund, Inc. Board President, Round Table Moderators, and Committee Chairs.

Council members are added to the ALLA Executive Council Google Group.

  • Divisions include: YSSLD, CUS, and PLD
  • Roundtables include: ALIRT, CDMRT, GODORT, MCRT, PART, RASRT, TSSRT, and YASRT
  • Committees are: Association Awards, Author Awards, Bibliographic, Budget & Finance, Bylaws, Convention, Education, Emeritus Council, Employee Evaluation, Handbook, Intellectual Freedom, Legislative Development, Membership, Nominating, Planning, Public Relations, and Publications

Voting members are limited to officers and division chairpersons.


  • President: Jessica Hayes, Auburn University at Montgomery, 334.244.3814, [email protected]
  • President-Elect: Daniel Tackett, Vestavia Hills Library in the Forest, 205.978.3683, [email protected]
  • Past President: Carrie Steinmehl, Hoover Public Library, 205.444.7748, [email protected]
  • Secretary: Paula Webb, University of South Alabama, 251.461.1933, [email protected]
  • Treasurer: Karen Preuss, Montgomery City-County Public Library, 334.240.4300, [email protected] [2-Year Term: term begins 7/2018 and ends 6/2020]
  • Member-at-Large: Central Alabama: Jeff Graveline, University of Alabama at Birmingham, 205.934.6364, [email protected] [2-Year Term: term ends 4/2020]
  • Member-at-Large: North Alabama: Ashley Cummins, Russellville Public Library, 256.332.1535, [email protected] [2-Year Term: term ends 4/2021]
  • Member-at-Large: South Alabama: Wendy Congiardo, Thomas B. Norton Public Library, 251.968.1176, [email protected] [2-Year Term: term ends 4/2020]

Division Chairpersons

  • Youth Services & School Library Division: Jennifer Powell, Tarrant High School, 678.677.3528, [email protected]
  • College, University & Special: John Upchurch, Jacksonville State University, 256.782.5252, [email protected]
  • Public Library: Barbara Curry, 334.365.3396, [email protected]

Ex-Officio Members

  • Association Administrator: Angela Moore, Alabama Library Association, 334.414.0113, [email protected]
  • Web Administrator: Jodi W. Poe, Jacksonville State University, 256.782.8103, [email protected]
  • ALA Councillor: Paula Laurita, Athens-Limestone Public Library, 256.232.1233, [email protected] [3-Year Term: term ends 4/2021]
  • SELA Representative: Margie Calhoun, Mobile Public Library, 251.208.7860, [email protected] [4-Year Term: term ends 4/2020]

Other Positions

  • ALLA COMMunicator Editor: Jessica Platt, Alabama State University, 334.229.4662, [email protected]
  • Archivist: Donnelly Walton, W.S. Hoole Special Collection Library, University of Alabama, 205.393.3245, [email protected]
  • President, Scholarship Fund, Inc.: Ashley Brown, Auburn Public Library, 334.501.3190, [email protected]