Authors Awards Committee

The Authors Awards Committee seeks to encourage and recognize Alabama authors and promote interest in local authors’ books, whether the books are about Alabama or another subject. Awards are based on literary merit. An honored author must be an Alabamian by birth or have lived in Alabama for at least five (5) years. The book for which the award is presented must have been published within the past three (3) calendar years prior to the year of the Association Convention at which the award is presented. Reprints of works originally published prior to the cutoff year of the award are not eligible for consideration. An author’s body of work is ineligible. An editor or translator may be considered if the book is of value to the permanent record of the State. The honoree must be living.


To suggest a title to the Committee, please use the ALLA Author Awards Submission Form.


Carrie Steinmehl
Hoover Public Library
200 Municipal Ln
Hoover, AL 35216

Previous Award Winners